Latest News

Corporations welcome to register their interest in the Bayan Lepas LRT pre-qualification process

Corporations welcome to register their interest in the Bayan Lepas LRT pre-qualification process

Published by Buletin Mutiara • 20/07/2022

THE Penang government has initiated the pre-qualification process for the Bayan Lepas Light Rail Transit’s Request for Proposal exercise.


Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said interested corporations that are shortlisted following the pre-qualification process would be invited to participate in the Request for Proposal (RFP) for the Bayan Lepas LRT scheme which would be called later.


Those interested can check out Penang Infrastructure Corporation’s website at to register their interest.


The PIC website.

“The pre-qualification process starts from July 25 to Aug 24. The companies can request access from Penang Infrastructure Corporation (PIC) to download the pre-qualification process documents.


“The document fee (non-refundable) is RM2,000 and is to be paid to PIC. They can download the documents from July 25 to Aug 14.


“Online registration starts from July 21 to Aug 8.


“The deadline for the submission of documents for the pre-qualification process is at noon, Aug 24. The assessment process will commence after the closing date and is expected to take place from Aug 25 to Sept 8,” Chow told a media conference in Komtar today.


Chow said the Penang government is committed to realising the Bayan Lepas LRT project as it is an important component of the Penang Transport Master Plan (PTMP).

The proposed Bayan Lepas LRT alignment.

The media conference also saw the launching of the newly rebranded PIC website,


“Previously, it was the website. This rebranding exercise has been worked on since last year.


“This newly rebranded website will be featuring information on PIC, Pusat Perkhidmatan Setempat Nelayan (PPSN) and components of PTMP, and the Penang South Islands (PSI),” he said.


Also present were Deputy Chief Minister II Prof P. Ramasamy, state Transport and Infrastructure Committee chairman Zairil Khir Johari, PIC chief executive officer Datuk Seri Farizan Darus, Infrastructure section chief Datuk Lim Hock Seng, and SRS Consortium project director Szeto Wai Loong.


Story by Christopher Tan

Pix by Darwina Mohd Daud

Video by Siti Nuratikah Rahmat

No Comments

Post A Comment

error: Content is protected !!